Get in touch
5 Questions to Dr. Sandra Gärtner
CEO Mediaresearch42

“Experts or talented employees in particular can act as influencers”

Author: Gabriela Hein
Date: 02.03.2022

The digital transformation of social media usage behavior is having a massive impact on content marketing. The area is now one of the most important distribution channels. In an interview, Dr. Sandra Gärtner, co-founder of the market research and technology service provider GreendAdz and CEO of mediaresearch42, explains the importance of influencer marketing in the B2B sector and how it has changed in recent years.

1. What role does influencer marketing play in the B2B sector?

An underestimated one! We regularly publish study compendiums, and the €1 billion market in Germany, Austria, and Switzerland that rejoices at the mere notion of influencer marketing usually refers to B2C campaigns. This means that we generally envision the classic Instagram posts in which micro- to mega-influencers enthusiastically talk about new products from the fields of food, interior design, fashion and beauty. This campaign is actually much more effective than traditional online advertising, but that is another topic altogether.

In the B2B sector, influencer marketing works from a psychological standpoint in the exact same way but in terms of implementation, the campaigns are of course designed differently. In the Statista Content Marketing Compass 2021, it was already shown that influencer marketing is primarily used as an instrument for content distribution marketing. That means that influencer marketing in B2B is at a similar level as print mailings and can be used to complement PR strategies — with a trajectory that is clearly on the upswing. And when I look at the success arc of influencer marketing in B2C, it can be assumed that the role will become even larger in B2B, for the challenges are in fact identical: 1. the effect of traditional advertising is dwindling on account of the information explosion; 2. online and social media are overtaking print media; and 3. the specialists who fill these channels are becoming scarce or tend to decide in favor of B2C brands as employers.

2. Which specific challenges exist for B2B influencer marketing campaigns?

Aside from the the ones just mentioned: fresh insights from the now 12th wave of the benchmark study from the Content Marketing Institute for B2B reveal that the greatest challenge for B2B decision makers currently consists of finding suitable experts.  In the end, influencers in B2B are after all experts of highly specialized subject areas with a broad sphere of activity (to speak of reach would be incorrect here). The paucity of experts who could for example serve as guest authors is currently creating major headaches for B2B marketers.

In our current Statista Content Marketing Compass with the focus on social media, I consider this to be the most pressing challenge of all: “The budget does not appear to be the problem. The percentage of those who said that budget problems presented a challenge in the search for personnel and employees sank to 40%, compared to 51% in the previous year.” The major hurdle for contract awarding B2B marketers entails finding partners with sufficient topical expertise (65%). This topical expertise involves not only an adequate understanding of the target groups and personas but also a knowledge of how the content marketing ROI is distributed. Precisely in the B2B area, the topic areas are decidedly varied, and established expertise is scarce.

3. Who qualifies as an influencer for B2B companies and why? 

Particularly in the B2B area, the selection criteria for suitable influencers differs from that in B2C. Neither range nor the so-called brand fit come first. Rather, it is all about experts or talented employees who can serve as influencers: an industry insider, a prominent user, or a renowned (specialized) journalist.  A B2B influencer is a person who possesses a high level of authority and authenticity or who has a specific and impressive level of industry expertise. When a television or movie celebrity likes a B2B product and talks about it on social media channels, this is fantastic, but it is not particularly relevant for B2B customers. More suitable for this are staunch and long-term customers.

In the B2B world, the extent of an influencer’s fame is not so much at the fore as the level of that person’s expertise, savvy, and of course a certain affinity for and enjoyment of social media, e.g., LinkedIn and XING. For example, as a XING insider for the topics content marketing and social media. I am also a B2B influencer for this industry — only in terms of reach, it comes down to quality over quantity.

4. How has influencer marketing changed in recent years?

Here too, it is worth taking a look at B2C: influencer marketing has developed from an occasional use of testimonials via the meteoric rise of the significance of social media platforms into a strategic marketing instrument. No longer is it a matter of “trying things out” for individual campaigns. Rather, great value is placed on a qualitative selection of suitable partners and long-term collaboration on an equal footing is sought.  From this, meaningful synergies are generated (as is the case in B2C) in the area of content production: When an influencer produces content for the brand and the collaboration is fruitful, it is not only possible to significantly reduce production costs of complex advertising material, but the result is also much more successful.  When the collaboration also boosts the influencer’s reputation, that individual really goes into overdrive. In short: it’s a win-win situation.

Whereas in earlier times, guest articles appeared in specialist media, digital media is now of course also accelerating the impetus of influencer marketing in B2B. What Instagram and TikTok are to B2C, XING and LinkedIn are to B2B. And as a distribution channel of social media campaigns, Facebook is still not to be underestimated for B2C and B2B.

5. Which experiences have you already had with influencer marketing campaigns in the B2B sector and which trends have you observed?

Indeed, I can point first and foremost to my rich repertoire from the B2C realm. Here I have witnessed the same developments as the ones from 20 years ago in online marketing or traditional online advertising. As the market and/or reach expands, so does the relevance of justifying the allocated budgets and demonstrating success. I have been doing this for display campaigns for 20 years and for influencer marketing campaigns for the past few years.

However, such traditional campaign-accompanying advertising efficacy studies are only relevant for B2C because reach and target group fit apply here.  In B2B, the targets and metrics are different. A campaign with a media budget of a million is a frequent occurrence. To prove how many of the “right” people from the target group have seen the campaign and whether the message has arrived is the objective of success measurement here. In B2B, the case is such that a single guest article or post on LinkedIn has to reach only one potential customer at the right time to then secure a million-dollar deal. In order to demonstrate this, other tools and evaluation systems are used.

 

To sum up, I anticipate the following trends:

  • Influencer marketing is becoming increasingly significant as LinkedIn and XING increase their reach and relevance.
  • The selection of the right influencer will be the sticking point but on the positive side: The market is still young and that means that there are advantages to being the first one to implement these measures.
  • The level of professionalism will continue to grow: In the way that experts and agents for influencer marketing exist in the B2C realm, additional individuals will be added to B2B and, similarly, internal resources for the topic will be added. Demonstrating that social media and influencer marketing in B2B allows a lot of room for creativity might attract a few specialists from B2C companies or encourage internal resources/talents to develop further in this direction. The pandemic has shown how B2Bers are capable of action and pragmatic where digitalization is concerned. By the way, this is an additional finding from the current studies that we have presented in detail in the new Compass.

All in all: the future looks bright for influencer marketing in B2B!

Dr. Sandra Gärtner
Dr. Sandra Gärtner, CEO mediaresearch42
Our newsletter

Information about current topics and trends as well as free infographics every month in our newsletter!

Statista Blog

Current topics and trends – plus free infographics

25 years of Netflix

Plan B for our climate

blank

#vanlife and Bulli Love

OUR VALUE ADDED

Individual information design – directly from the expert for data research

We at Statista Content & Information Design have been dealing with data, facts and analyses for years. Therefore we understand particularly well how these can be presented visually. Also, Statista’s portal comprises more than one million statistics, studies and reports from over 22,500 sources – the ideal basis for exciting, customized data storytelling.

Handcrafted styling using your corporate design – no templates
Experienced team of consultants, editors, designers and digital marketing experts
Research, storytelling, and design from one source
In-depth expertise and reputable data sources from all over the world
Predefined processes and decision paths save you time
Perfect staging of your product

5 Fragen an Dr. Sandra Gärtner
CEO Mediaresearch42

„Vor allem Experten oder talentierte Mitarbeiter können als Influencer fungieren“

Autorin: Gabriela Hein
Datum: 02.03.2022

Die digitale Transformation des Nutzungsverhaltens von Social Media wirkt sich massiv auf das Content Marketing aus. Der Bereich gehört mittlerweile zu einem der wichtigsten Distributionskanäle. Dr. Sandra Gärtner, Mitgründerin des Marktforschungs- und Technologiedienstleisters GreendAdz sowie CEO von mediaresearch42, erklärt im Interview, welche Bedeutung auch Influencer-Marketing im B2B-Bereich hat und wie es sich in den vergangenen Jahren verändert hat.

1. Welche Rolle spielt Influencer Marketing im B2B-Bereich?

Eine unterschätzte! Wir geben je regelmäßig Studienkompendien raus und der 1 Milliarde Euro Markt in DACH, der beim Gedanken an „Influencer Marketing“ frohlockt, bezieht sich i.d.R. auf B2C-Kampagnen. D.h. gemeinhin stellt man sich die klassischen Instagram Posts vor, in denen Micro- bis Mega-Influencer begeistert über neue Produkte aus Food, Interieur, Mode und Beauty berichten. Diese Kampagnen funktionieren tatsächlich um ein Vielfaches besser als klassische Online-Werbung, aber das ist ein anderes Thema.

Im B2B-Bereich funktioniert Influencer Marketing psychologisch gesehen genauso, in der Umsetzung gestalten sich die Kampagnen aber natürlich anders. Im Statista Content Marketing Compass 2021 zeigte sich bereits, dass Influencer Marketing insbesondere als Distributionsinstrument für Content genutzt wird. D.h. auch in B2B steht Influencer Marketing auf einem ähnlichen Level wie gedruckte Mailings und kann ergänzend zu PR-Maßnahmen eingesetzt werden – Tendenz deutlich steigend. Und wenn ich mir den Erfolgslauf von Influencer Marketing in B2C anschaue, ist anzunehmen, dass die Rolle auch in B2B deutlich größer wird, denn die Herausforderungen sind ja dieselben: 1. Die Wirkung von klassischer Werbung lässt aufgrund der Informationsflut nach, 2. Online und Social Media überholen Print und 3. Die Fachkräfte, die diese Kanäle ausfüllen werden rar oder entscheiden sich eher für B2C-Marken als Arbeitgeber.

2. Welche Herausforderungen gibt es für Influencer-Marketing-Kampagnen speziell im B2B?

Abgesehen von den eben angesprochenen: Ganz frische Ergebnisse aus der nunmehr 12. Welle der Benchmarkstudie des Content Marketing Institutes für B2B zeigen, dass die größte Herausforderung für B2B-Entscheider aktuell darin liegen, geeignete Experten zu finden. Influencer in B2B sind ja letztlich Experten einer i.d.R. sehr speziellen Fachrichtung mit einem hohen Wirkungskreis (von Reichweite zu sprechen, wäre hier der falsche Begriff). Der Mangel an Experten, die z.B. als Gastautoren fungieren können, bereitet den B2B-Marketers zur Zeit große Kopfschmerzen.

In unserem aktuellen Statista Content Marketing Compass mit Schwerpunkt Social Media stelle ich diese Herausforderung direkt an Platz 1: „Das Budget scheint nicht das Problem zu sein: Der Prozentsatz derjenigen, die angaben, dass Budgetprobleme eine Herausforderung bei der Personal- und Dienstleistersuche darstellen, sank auf 40 % gegenüber 51 % im Vorjahr. Die größte Herausforderung für auftragsvergebende B2B-Marketer besteht darin, Partner mit ausreichender thematischer Expertise zu finden (65%). Zu dieser thematischen Expertise gehört sowohl ein adäquates Verständnis der Zielgruppen und Personas als auch Kenntnisse darüber, wie der Content Marketing ROI ermittelt wird. Gerade im B2B-Bereich sind die Themenfelder ausgesprochen differenziert und ausgewiesene Expertise rar.

3. Wer eignet sich als Influencer für B2B-Unternehmen und warum?

Gerade im B2B-Bereich sind die Auswahlkriterien für passende „Influencer“ andere als in B2C. Es ist nicht in erster Linie die Reichweite oder der so genannte „Brand Fit“: Hier sind es vor allem Experten oder talentierte Mitarbeiter, die als Influencer fungieren können; ein Brancheninsider, ein prominenter Verbraucher oder ein bekannter (Fach-)Journalist. Ein B2B Influencer ist eine Person, die eine hohe Autorität und Authentizität besitzt oder eine bestimmte, beeindruckende Expertise in der Branche hat. Wenn ein Prominenter aus Film und Fernsehen ein B2B-Produkt mag und darüber in den Sozialen Medien spricht, ist das ausgezeichnet, aber für B2B-Kunden nicht besonders relevant. Besser geeignet sind überzeugte und langjährige Kunden.

In der B2B-Welt steht also weniger der Bekanntheitsgrad als Einflussfaktor eines Influencers im Vordergrund, viel mehr zählt seine Expertise, das Know-how und natürlich eine gewisse Social Media Affinität und -Freude, z.B. auf LinkedIn oder Xing. Ich zum Beispiel bin als Xing Insider für die Themen Content Marketing und Social Media auch eine B2B-Influencerin für diese Branche – nur bei der Reichweite kommt es eher auf Qualität denn Quantität an.

4. Wie hat sich das Influencer Marketing in den vergangenen Jahren verändert?

Auch hier lohnt ein Blick auf B2C: Influencer Marketing hat sich vom gelegentlichen Einsatz von Testimonials allein schon durch den kometenhaften Aufstieg der Bedeutung von Social Media Plattformen zu einem strategischen Marketing Instrument entwickelt. Man probiert nicht mehr nur auf einzelnen Kampagnen „mal was aus“, sondern legt großen Wert auf eine gute Auswahl der richtigen Partner und strebt eine langfristige Zusammenarbeit auf Augenhöhe an. Daraus entstehen wie in B2C sinnvolle Synergien auch in Sachen Content Produktion: Wenn ein Influencer Inhalte für die Marke produziert und die Zusammenarbeit passt, kann die Kreation nicht nur Produktionskosten von aufwändigen Werbemitteln deutlich reduzieren, sondern wirkt auch um ein Vielfaches besser. Wenn die Zusammenarbeit auch den Influencer bezüglich seiner Reputation weiterbringt, legt er sich für die Marke richtig ins Zeug. WinWin also.

Während es früher die Gastartikel in Fachmedien waren, sind es jetzt natürlich die digitalen Medien, die den Aufschwung von Influencer Marketing auch in B2B beflügeln. Was Instagram und TikTok in B2C sind, sind Xing und LinkedIn in B2B. Und als Distributionskanal von Social Media Kampagnen ist Facebook für B2C und B2B nach wie vor nicht zu unterschätzen.

5. Welche Erfahrungen hast du bereits mit Influencer Marketing Kampagnen gemacht im B2B-Bereich und welche Trends siehst du?

Tatsächlich kann ich hier in erster Linie auf mein reiches Repertoire aus dem B2C-Bereich verweisen. Hier sehe ich die gleiche Entwicklung wie 20 Jahre zurück im Online-Marketing bzw. der klassischen Online-Werbung: Der Markt bzw. die Reichweite wächst, damit auch die Relevanz, die eingesetzten Budgets zu rechtfertigen und den Erfolg nachzuweisen. Das mache ich seit 20 Jahren für Display-Kampagnen und seit einigen wenigen Jahren auch für Influencer Marketing Kampagnen. Solch klassische kampagnenbegleitenden Werbewirkungsstudien sind aber nur für B2C relevant, weil hier Reichweite und Zielgruppenfit zählen.

In B2B sind die Ziele und Metriken andere. Eine Kampagne, die eine Million Mediabudget einsetzt, kommt hier häufig vor. Nachzuweisen, wieviele der „richtigen“ Menschen aus der Zielgruppe sie wahrgenommen haben und ob die Botschaft angekommen ist, ist hier das Ziel der Erfolgsmessung In B2B ist es so, dass ein einziger Gastartikel oder Beitrag auf LinkedIn nur einen pot. Kunden zur richtigen Zeit erreicht haben muss, der dann einen Millionendeal abschließt. Um dies nachzuweisen, kommen andere Tools und Bewertungssysteme zum Einsatz.

 

Zusammenfassend erwarte ich folgende Trends:

  • Influencer Marketing nimmt mit zunehmender Reichweite und Relevanz von LinkedIn und Xing weiter an Bedeutung zu.
  • Die Auswahl der richtigen Influencer wird der Knackpunkt – aber das Gute ist: Noch ist der Markt jung, d.h. man hat Vorteile, überhaupt der Erste zu sein, der das Thema für sich einsetzt.
  • Der Professionalisierungsgrad wird weiter zunehmen: So wie es Experten und Agenturen für Influencer Marketing in B2C gibt, werden weitere in B2B hinzukommen, ebenso werden interne Ressourcen für das Thema aufgestockt. Hier zu zeigen, dass Social Media und Influencer Marketing in B2B viel Gestaltungsraum lässt, lockt vielleicht auch die eine oder andere Fachkraft von B2C-Unternehmen weg oder dazu, interne Ressourcen/Talente in die Richtung weiterzuentwickeln. Die Pandemie hat gezeigt, wie handlungsfähig und pragmatisch B2Bler in Sachen Digitalisierung sind. Das ist übrigens ein weiteres Ergebnis aus den aktuellen Studien, das wir auch im neuen Compass ausführlich darstellen.

Alles in allem: Gute Aussichten für Influencer Marketing in B2B!

Spannende Insights und aktuelle Trends und Entwicklungen im Content Marketing gibt es in unserem brandneuen Content Marketing Compass 2022 – diesmal mit Schwerpunkt Social Media.

Hier geht’s zum kostenfreien Download.

Dr. Sandra Gärtner
Dr. Sandra Gärtner, CEO mediaresearch42
Unser Newsletter

Infos zu aktuellen Themen und Trends sowie kostenlose Infografiken – jeden Monat neu in unserem Newsletter! Melden Sie sich jetzt an:

Statista Blog

Aktuelle Themen und Trends sowie kostenlose Infografiken

Insektenfreundlicher Garten

Social Media im Content Marketing

blank

2 Jahre Corona

Unser Mehrwert

Individuelles Informationsdesign – direkt vom Experten für Datenrecherche

Wir von Statista Content & Information Design beschäftigen uns seit Jahren mit Daten, Fakten und Analysen. Daher verstehen wir besonders gut, wie diese visuell aufbereitet werden können. Zudem umfasst das Portal von Statista mehr als eine Million Statistiken, Studien und Reports aus über 22.500 Quellen – die ideale Grundlage für ein spannendes Data Storytelling nach Maß.

Handgemachte Gestaltung in Ihrem Corporate Design – keine Templates
Erfahrenes Team aus Beratern, Redakteuren, Designern und Digital Marketing-Experten
Tiefgründige Kompetenz und seriöse Datenquellen aus aller Welt
Recherche, Storytelling, Design & Distribution aus einer Hand
Zeitersparnis durch vordefinierte Prozesse und Entscheidungswege
Ihr Produkt & Ihre Botschaft perfekt in Szene gesetzt

Unsere Produkte

Entdecken Sie unsere Produkte für Ihre individuelle Datenvisualisierung